Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award Longlist 2023

Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award Longlist 2023

We are delighted to announce the longlist for our seventh annual Goldsboro Books Glass Bell Award, which sees a strong representation within the upmarket genre alongside a healthy sprinkling of magical realism, book club and some dark tales to boot – both contemporary and historical.

Well showcased on this list are debut novels, including When We Were Birds by Ayanna Lloyd Banwo, winner of the OCM Bocas Prize for Caribbean Literature; The Leviathan by Rosie Andrews, a Sunday Times top ten bestseller; Metronome by Tom Watson and The Second Sight of Zachary Cloudesley by Sean Lusk – both picks for BBC2’s Between the Covers; the internationally bestselling debut from Saara El-Arifi, The Final Strife; the soon-to-be-a-major-TV-series, Wahala by Nikki May; Notes On An Execution by Danya Kukafka, an Edgar Award winner; and Pandora by Susan Stokes Chapman, the instant no.1 Sunday Times bestseller.

Rounding off the longlist, is ‘Amazon’s Best Book of 2022’ Tomorrow, and Tomorrow and Tomorrow by Gabrielle Zevin; the Pulitzer Prize-winning Trust by Hernan Diaz; the second novel from Booker Prize-winner Douglas Stuart, Young Mungo; and finally the no.1 New York Times bestseller, Carrie Soto Is Back by Taylor Jenkins Reid.

David Headley, Goldsboro Books co-founder and MD, and founder of the Glass Bell Award says: “2022’s debut game was incredibly strong and so when we started having conversations about putting together our Glass Bell longlist – coupled with established authors putting out some of their best works yet – I knew we had a challenge ahead of us. However, my team and I work very closely to make sure that we are all in agreement about what goes on the longlist and once again, I am delighted with the outcome. The aim of the Glass Bell Award is to acknowledge incredible storytelling – and this year is no exception!”

The Glass Bell Award is judged by David and his team here at Goldsboro Books. It is the only prize that rewards storytelling in all genres – from romance, thrillers and ghost stories, to historical, speculative and literary fiction – and is awarded annually to ‘a compelling novel with brilliant characterisation and a distinct voice that is confidently written and assuredly realised’. The shortlist will be announced on Thursday 27th July, with the winner – who will receive £2,000 and a beautiful, handmade glass bell – announced on Thursday 28th September 2023.

Last year, Elodie Harper took home the Award for The Wolf Den, the first in her Wolf Den Trilogy. The book was hailed by the judging team for being “rich and immersive”.

For further information, and to join the conversation please visit: |&... |

Back to blog
1 of 4