Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

978-1838937942

Wolves of Winter

Wolves of Winter

by Dan Jones

Publisher Head of Zeus

Released:

  • Signed by the Author
  • UK First Edition
  • First Printing
  • Hardcover


Regular price £16.99
Regular price Sale price £16.99
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

'Nobody but Dan Jones could write this story... It captures the grime, blood, sweat and friendship of medieval war brilliantly.' GARETH RUSSELL

AN ENDLESS WAR.

A BLOOD-SOAKED BATTLEFIELD.
A BAND OF BROTHERS

1347. Bruised and bloodied by an epic battle at Cr?cy, six soldiers of fortune known as the Essex Dogs pick through the wreckage of the fighting - and their own lives.

Now a new siege is beginning, and the Dogs are sent to attack the soaring walls of Calais. King Edward has vowed no Englishman will leave France til this city falls. To get home, they must survive a merciless winter in a lawless camp deadlier than any battlefield.

Obsessed with tracking down the vanished Captain, Loveday struggles to control his own men. Romford is haunted by the reappearance of a horrific figure from his past. And Scotsman is spiralling into a pit of drink, violence and self-pity.

The Dogs are being torn apart - but this war is far from over. It won't be long before they lose more of their own.

From a vast siege camp built outside Calais' walls, to pirate ships patrolling the harbour, and finally into the darkest corners of oligarchs' houses inside a starving city, this captivating and darkly comic story brings the fourteenth century vividly to life. A searing tale about merchants, money and the medieval 'deep state', this is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden.

'An enthralling, captivating, and thrilling chronicle... Truly wonderful and truly fascinating!' GENERAL DAVID PETRAEUS

Praise for Essex Dogs:
'Oddly joyous - rolling action, fast-paced, a book that draws you in page by page. The way Dan Jones writes enemies reminds me of Cornwell at his best, turning up tension click by click.' CONN IGGULDEN
'A testosterone fuelled, blood soaked rampage across the Middle Ages, this is the Hundred Years' War as directed by Oliver Stone with a historian's eye for detail' ELODIE HARPER
'A new champion has entered the front line of historical fiction to stand shoulder to shoulder with Bernard Cornwell.' JANE JOHNSON
'Battle-bloody, brutal and perfectly pitched.' DAILY MAIL
'With a cast of unforgettable characters, written with irrepressible verve.' SIMON SEBAG MONTEFIORE

Collapsible content

About the Author

Dan Jones

Dan Jones is the New York Times bestselling author of Powers and Thrones, Crusaders, The Templars, The Plantagenets, Wars of the Roses, and Magna Carta,as well as the novel Essex Dogs. He is the host of the podcast This is History: A Dynasty to Die For and has produced, written, and presented dozens of TV shows, including the popular Netflix series Secrets of Great British Castles.

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

  • Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Manager Elizabeth

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

  • Celebrating 25 Years of Literary Excellence: Goldsboro Books Announces Anniversary Anthology ‘25’

    Celebrating 25 Years of Literary Excellence: Go...

    London, United Kingdom - May 16, 2024 - Goldsboro Books, the renowned independent bookshop nestled in the heart of London and Brighton, is set to mark its 25th anniversary in...

    Celebrating 25 Years of Literary Excellence: Go...

    London, United Kingdom - May 16, 2024 - Goldsboro Books, the renowned independent bookshop nestled in the heart of London and Brighton, is set to mark its 25th anniversary in...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: Brighton Bookseller Ellen

    Bookseller Recommendations: Brighton Bookseller...

    We understand that it can be difficult to find the perfect book to scratch that specific reading itch you might have, or to find the best special edition to add...

    Bookseller Recommendations: Brighton Bookseller...

    We understand that it can be difficult to find the perfect book to scratch that specific reading itch you might have, or to find the best special edition to add...

1 of 4