Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

9781805460619

Berlin Duet

Berlin Duet

by S.W. Perry

Publisher Corvus

Released:

  • Signed by the author
  • Hardback
  • UK First Edition, First Printing


Regular price £18.99
Regular price Sale price £18.99
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

'What a love story' Elizabeth Buchan
'Gripping and heartfelt' Elisabeth Gifford
'Entirely convincing and authentic' Leonora Nattrass

UNITED BY WAR. DIVIDED BY A SECRET.


From silent era Hollywood and the nightclubs of pre-war Vienna to the ruins of Soviet Berlin, discover a moving, ambitious story of an enduring love amidst the devastation of war . . .

In 1938, English spy Harry Taverner and Jewish photographer Anna Cantrell spend the night dancing at Berlin's most elegant hotel. Anna is married to another man, the Nazi shadow is rising over Europe and neither expects to ever meet again.

But once peace is declared, they reunite in the ruins of Berlin, where Anna is searching for her missing children. With the blockade tightening and the Soviets set on conquest, Harry and Anna walk a treacherous line between love and duty, integrity and survival, loyalty and betrayal. And as the Cold War dawns, they are bound together by a secret that will only be revealed decades later, when Berlin finds itself on the cusp of another transformation...

Berlin Duet is a sweeping, unforgettable historical epic from the Kindle-bestselling author of The Angel's Mark. Perfect for fans of Sebastian Faulks and William Boyd.

PRAISE FOR S. W. PERRY:

'A gorgeous book - rich, intelligent and dark in equal measure. This is historical fiction at its most sumptuous' Rory Clements

'Wonderful! Beautiful writing' Giles Kristian

'Dramatic and colourful' 
Sunday Times

'The writing is of such a quality, the characters so engaging and the setting so persuasive . . . my favourite historical crime series' S. G. MacLean

'No-one is better than S. W. Perry at leading us through the squalid streets of London in the sixteenth century' Andrew Swanston

'A rattling good read' William Ryan

Collapsible content

About the Author

S.W. Perry

S W Perry began his first career - in journalism - when he joined Radio 210 in 1977 as a trainee news reporter. He went on to work for LBC, presenting news programmes and reading the news on IRN, the ITN of the commercial radio network. He was a commentator for the IRN team that covered the wedding of Prince Charles and Lady Diana Spencer. He spent six years as head of news for one of the UK's commercial radio stations. In the early eighties he began to indulge an interest in flying, gaining his pilot’s licence. He flew a vintage Tiger Moth biplane, as well as the traffic spotting aircraft for Essex Radio. Gaining his commercial rating, he left broadcasting behind and took up aviation full time. He then spent the next thirty years flying for a living, ending up as a senior captain with a major UK leisure airline.

Steve lives in rural Worcestershire with his wife Jane. When he's not writing the Jackdaw series - four books set in Elizabethan London and published by Corvus Books - he's to be found indulging his love for the works of William Shakespeare in the audience at the RSC theatre in nearby Stratford-Upon-Avon.

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

  • Bringer of Dust by J.M. Miro  (Important pre-order information)

    Bringer of Dust by J.M. Miro (Important pre-or...

    Goldsboro Books

    We are very excited to share more information on our exclusive edition copies of The Bringer of Dust by J.M. Miro. This breath taking sequel to Ordinary Monsters that delves even...

    Goldsboro Books

    Bringer of Dust by J.M. Miro (Important pre-or...

    We are very excited to share more information on our exclusive edition copies of The Bringer of Dust by J.M. Miro. This breath taking sequel to Ordinary Monsters that delves even...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller - Chiara

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller -...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    We're back with more bookseller recommendations! Today, London bookseller, Chiara, shares some of her favourite recent reads and some of her highly anticipated upcoming releases. Discover something new to add...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller -...

    We're back with more bookseller recommendations! Today, London bookseller, Chiara, shares some of her favourite recent reads and some of her highly anticipated upcoming releases. Discover something new to add...

  • Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    Rebecca McDonnell

    DEBUTS & BESTSELLERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2024 GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD A winner of the British Book Awards Debut of the Year, a serial killer thriller, an epic and...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    DEBUTS & BESTSELLERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2024 GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD A winner of the British Book Awards Debut of the Year, a serial killer thriller, an epic and...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller Harveen

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

1 of 4