Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

978-1804367483

Blood Roses

Blood Roses

by Douglas Jackson

Publisher Canelo Action

Released:

  • Signed
  • Hardback
  • UK First Edition/First Printing


Regular price £16.99
Regular price Sale price £16.99
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

'Historical crime fiction at its best’ Chris Lloyd, author of The Unwanted Dead

'One of the UK’s finest crime writers’ Ben Kane, Sunday Times bestselling author of Napoleon’s Spy

As the Nazis roll into Warsaw, a serial killer is unleashed…

September 1939. A city ruled by fear. A population brutalised by restrictions and reprisals. Amid the devastation, another hunter begins to prowl. What are a few more deaths amid scores of daily executions?

Former chief investigator Jan Kalisz lives a dangerous double life, forced to work with the occupiers as he gathers information for the fledgling Polish resistance. Even his family cannot be told his true allegiance.

When the niece of a Wehrmacht general is found terribly mutilated, Jan links the murder to other killings that are of less interest to his new overlords. Soon, he finds himself on the trail of a psychopathic killer known as The Artist. But, shunned as a Nazi collaborator, can he solve the case before another innocent girl is taken?

A chilling serial killer investigation, perfect for fans of Simon Scarrow's Blackout and the TV series Hannibalstarring Mads Mikkelson.

Praise for Blood Roses

‘A compelling, evocative story of evil stalking amidst the chaos of war’ Giles Kristian, Sunday Times bestselling author of Where Blood Runs Cold

‘Immensely powerful and vivid .... This is historical crime fiction at its best’ Chris Lloyd, author of The Unwanted Dead

‘The writing is scalpel-sharp, the unrelenting savagery of the Nazi occupation vividly painted. I spent the entire novel feeling glad that I never had to live through such a time… With this book, Jackson will rightfully be regarded as one of the UK’s finest crime writers’ Ben Kane, Sunday Times bestselling author of Napoleon’s Spy

‘A taut, tense thriller… Gutsy and gripping, this is perfect for fans of Chris Lloyd and Robert Harris’ D. V. Bishop, author of City of Vengeance

‘Jackson has created a brilliant mash-up of WW2 thriller and a serial killer chiller, and in so doing brings a fresh perspective to both. Sharp, intelligent writing that makes for a compelling read’ Alison Belsham, author of The Girls on Chalk Hill

‘Jackson brings the tension, brutality and paranoia of Warsaw of the period into murderous life. A fine portrait of a people suffering oppression as well as a knife-edge thriller’ Douglas Skelton, author of A Thief’s Justice

Collapsible content

About the Author

Douglas Jackson

Douglas Jackson is a Scottish novelist. Jackson grew up in the town of Jedburgh in the Scottish Borders. A journalist on local and national newspapers for 36 years, Jackson left The Scotsman where he was Assistant Editor, in 2009 to become a full-time writer.

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

  • Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Manager Elizabeth

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

  • Celebrating 25 Years of Literary Excellence: Goldsboro Books Announces Anniversary Anthology ‘25’

    Celebrating 25 Years of Literary Excellence: Go...

    London, United Kingdom - May 16, 2024 - Goldsboro Books, the renowned independent bookshop nestled in the heart of London and Brighton, is set to mark its 25th anniversary in...

    Celebrating 25 Years of Literary Excellence: Go...

    London, United Kingdom - May 16, 2024 - Goldsboro Books, the renowned independent bookshop nestled in the heart of London and Brighton, is set to mark its 25th anniversary in...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: Brighton Bookseller Ellen

    Bookseller Recommendations: Brighton Bookseller...

    We understand that it can be difficult to find the perfect book to scratch that specific reading itch you might have, or to find the best special edition to add...

    Bookseller Recommendations: Brighton Bookseller...

    We understand that it can be difficult to find the perfect book to scratch that specific reading itch you might have, or to find the best special edition to add...

1 of 4