Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

978-1787303942

Chain-Gang All-Stars

Chain-Gang All-Stars

by Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

Publisher Harvill Secker

Released:

  • Signed & Numbered
  • UK First Edition
  • First Printing
  • Hardcover
  • Limited Edition
  • Sprayed Edges


Regular price £27.99
Regular price Sale price £27.99
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition 500 Copies

View full details

About the book

Enter a world where, watched by millions, prisoners fight like gladiators for the ultimate prize: their freedom. Perfect for fans of The Handmaid's Tale, Squid Game and Watchmen

**A MOST ANTICIPATED TITLE OF 2023 from The Independent, Elle, The Millions, Salon, Washington Post, Seattle Times, Huffington Post, Oprah Daily, The Week, Book Riot, Lit-Reactor, Goodreads, Publishers Weekly, Kirkus AND MANY MORE**


'Electrifying' GEORGE SAUNDERS
'Awe-inspiring' JESSAMINE CHAN
'A revelation!' TOMMY ORANGE

Welcome to Chain-Gang All-Stars, the popular and highly controversial programme inside America's prison system. In packed arenas, watched by millions of live-stream viewers, prisoners compete as gladiators for the ultimate prize: their freedom.

Fan favourites Loretta Thurwar and Hamara 'Hurricane Staxxx' Stacker are teammates and lovers. Thurwar is nearing the end of her time on the circuit, free in just a few matches, a fact she carries as heavily as her lethal hammer. As she prepares for her final encounters, as protestors gather at the gates, and as the programme's corporate owners stack the odds against her - will the price be simply too high?

*Roxane Gay's May Selection for the Audacious Book Club*

Praise for Nana Adjei-Brenyah's instant New York Times bestseller, Friday Black

'So daring and mind-bending that you haven't a clue where he's going to take you.'
Bernardine Evaristo

'A call to arms... Outstanding... Read this book.'
Roxanne Gay

'I can't wait to see all of the work he does from here.'
Yaa Gyasi

Collapsible content

About the Author

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah

Nana Kwame Adjei-Brenyah is an American speculative fiction author who wrote the short story collection Friday Black and his debut novel Chain-Gang All-Stars. He was named one of "5 under 35 Authors" by the National Book Foundation in 2018 and won the PEN/Jean Stein Book Award in 2019.

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

    Deadline for number requests: 5th July 2023, 6pm GMT.

1 of 4