Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

9781398713048

Girls

Girls

by Kirsty Capes

Publisher Orion

Released:

  • Signed by the author
  • Hardback
  • UK First Edition, First Printing


Regular price £18.99
Regular price Sale price £18.99
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

*Don't miss the searing, dazzling and unforgettable new novel from the Women's Prize longlisted author of CARELESS*

'Every word has the touch of a genius' BENJAMIN ZEPHANIAH

'A pin-sharp, propulsive story' KIRAN MILLWOOD HARGRAVE

'Bold, brilliant, shocking and shattering' CHRIS WHITAKER

Everyone has heard of Girls.
But what happened to the women they became?

At the time of her death, the press wrote many things about Ingrid Olssen:

She was a brilliant artist. She was a terrible mother to her girls, Mattie and Nora. And that her legacy would live on forever.

Even so, it's unlikely the world will ever see another Ingrid Olssen exhibition - her last request to her daughters was to throw her ashes in the canyon and her paintings in the sea.

But as Mattie and Nora reluctantly embark on an all-or-nothing trip to fulfil her wishes, they start to unpick the painful scars of their past.

And soon they begin to realise that the ties that bound them, might also break them...

Perfect for fans of Sorrow and Bliss by Meg Mason and Daisy Jones and the Six by Taylor Jenkins Reid. GIRLS is as devastating as it is hilarious, as tender and moving as it is shocking - this is a book that will stay with you long after you have turned the final pages.

** EARLY PRAISE FOR GIRLS **

'I knew I'd love GIRLS and I did, but I'm also utterly devastated by it. What a beautiful, rich, expansive novel. It'll be a while before I stop crying. Thank you a million times over' JENNIE GODFREY

'I can't think when I last encountered a story world of this depth and faultless plausibility. Everything about it was perfect: intricate; warm; uncluttered. Blimey, I wish I'd written itANSTEY HARRIS

'An extraordinary writer of lives rarely written about [...] in words that are wise, warm, painful and often witty' DALJIT NAGRA

'Phenomenal. I loved it.' KATE SAWYER

'Surprising, heart-breaking and dryly funny, Kirsty Capes is such an exciting talent.' CAROLINE HULSE

'GIRLS puts a lens to 
the awful things sisters do to one another and the absolute life-changing necessity of a sister's forgiveness.' ABIGAIL BERGSTROM

'Ambitious in form and scope, it covers childhood trauma, art and celebrity culture, the unfathomable bond between sisters, and much more' ELISSA SOAVE

'Unmissable, bold and moving. This is Capes' best novel yet.' SARA JAFARI

'Thoughtful and deeply human, Girls is a masterful take on family at its most complicated' PHOENICIA ROGERSON

'Phenomenal.GIRLS made me laugh, cry, and gave me all the feels in between. I'll be thinking about these characters for a very long time' LISA HALL

'Wonderful, wonderful storytelling and unforgettable characters' SARA NISHA ADAMS

Collapsible content

About the Author

Kirsty Capes

Kirsty Capes works in marketing and lives in Slough with her golden retriever, Doug. She holds a PhD from Brunel University London; her thesis investigates representations of the care experience in contemporary British fiction. Her first novel,Careless, was longlisted for the Women's Prize 2022.Girlsis her third novel.

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller Harveen

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

  • Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Manager Elizabeth

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

  • Celebrating 25 Years of Literary Excellence: Goldsboro Books Announces Anniversary Anthology ‘25’

    Celebrating 25 Years of Literary Excellence: Go...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    London, United Kingdom - May 16, 2024 - Goldsboro Books, the renowned independent bookshop nestled in the heart of London and Brighton, is set to mark its 25th anniversary in...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Celebrating 25 Years of Literary Excellence: Go...

    London, United Kingdom - May 16, 2024 - Goldsboro Books, the renowned independent bookshop nestled in the heart of London and Brighton, is set to mark its 25th anniversary in...

1 of 4