Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

9781801109017

Hill 112

Hill 112

by Adrian Goldsworthy

Publisher Head of Zeus

Released:

  • Signed by the author
  • Hardback
  • UK First Edition, First Printing


Regular price £20.00
Regular price Sale price £20.00
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

From critically acclaimed historian and novelist Adrian Goldsworthy, a gripping story of friendship and division set against one of the most dramatic campaigns of the Second World War.

D-Day. June 6th, 1944. The trajectory of the Second World War - and with it the course of modern history - is changed for ever.

For three young former schoolmates from South Wales, their war is only just beginning.

James was the school cricket captain. Now, a few short years later, he is in charge of a troop of Sherman tanks.

Mark, just nineteen, must lead a platoon of infantrymen into battle.

And Bill, always something of a loner, sees the heart of the fighting as a private soldier.

These young men, and thousands of others, will soon be a part of one of the bloodiest and most brutal parts of the Normandy campaign: the battle for Hill 112. The horror, the fear, the filth; the savage fighting; the sheer exhilaration and moments of farce and laughter: those who come through the carnage will never be the same again.

Based on real events and the records and reminiscences of those who were there, and released to coincide with the eightieth anniversary of D-Day, Hill 112 is perfect for fans of Robert Harris and Simon Scarrow.

Collapsible content

About the Author

Adrian Goldsworthy

Adrian Goldsworthy was born in 1969. He was educated up to the age of sixteen at Westbourne House Preparatory School and Westbourne Boys College in Penarth, South Wales. He attended the Sixth Form at Stanwell Comprehensive School for his A-Levels. From there he went to St John's College, Oxford University and took a First in Ancient and Modern History. Remaining at St John's, he was awarded a D.Phil. in Literae Humaniores (Ancient History) in 1994. The topic of his thesis was 'The Roman Army as a fighting force, 100 BC-AD 200'. A modified version of this was subsequently published in the Oxford Monographs series under the title of The Roman Army at War, 100 BC - AD 200 (1996). This remains in print and is one of the best selling works in the series.


He was a Junior Research Fellow at Cardiff University for two years and subsequently taught part-time at King's College London and was an assistant professor on the University of Notre Dame's London programme for six years. He also did bits and pieces of teaching at other universities. He has lectured on a range of topics, including both Greek and (particularly) Roman History, but also taught a course on the military history of the Second World War at Notre Dame.


Teaching is tremendous fun, but writing is even more enjoyable and in the last few years he has given up teaching to write full time. Best of all this avoids the vast weight of administrative work now inevitable in any university post. It is still nice to give lectures and attend conferences, but only when time permits.


Adrian Goldsworthy lives in South Wales.

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

  • Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    Rebecca McDonnell

    DEBUTS & BESTSELLERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2024 GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD A winner of the British Book Awards Debut of the Year, a serial killer thriller, an epic and...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    DEBUTS & BESTSELLERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2024 GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD A winner of the British Book Awards Debut of the Year, a serial killer thriller, an epic and...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller Harveen

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

  • Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Manager Elizabeth

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

1 of 4