Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

9780241652305

The Safekeep

The Safekeep

by Yael Van Der Wouden

Publisher Viking

Released:

  • Signed by the author
  • Hardback
  • UK First Edition, First Printing


Regular price £16.99
Regular price Sale price £16.99
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

'Surprising, chilling, and electric' Alice Winn, bestselling author of IN MEMORIAM

'Moving, unnerving and deeply sexy'
 Tracy Chevalier, bestselling author of GIRL WITH A PEARL EARRING

'A house is a precious thing...'

An exhilarating tale of twisted desire, histories and homes, and the unexpected shape of revenge - for readers of Patricia Highsmith, Sarah Waters and Ian McEwan's Atonement


It's 1961 and the rural Dutch province of Overijssel is quiet. Bomb craters have been filled, buildings reconstructed, and the war is well and truly over. Living alone in her late mother's country home, Isabel's life is as it should be: led by routine and discipline. But all is upended when her brother Louis delivers his graceless new girlfriend, Eva, at Isabel's doorstep-as a guest, there to stay for the season...

Eva is Isabel's antithesis: sleeps late, wakes late, walks loudly through the house and touches things she shouldn't. In response Isabel develops a fury-fuelled obsession, and when things start disappearing around the house-a spoon, a knife, a bowl-Isabel' suspicions spiral out of control. In the sweltering peak of summer, Isabel's paranoia gives way to desire - leading to a discovery that unravels all Isabel has ever known. The war might not be well and truly over after all, and neither Eva - nor the house in which they live - are what they seem.

'A twisting, elegant, intriguing story about the secrets we hide in our homes and hearts - and how it only takes one person to unlock the past.' Joanna Quinn, bestselling author of THE WHALEBONE THEATRE

'The Safekeep is a dream of a novel ― mesmerizing and shockingly good ― it lulls you with the lyrical beauty of its words and then slams you awake with its raw passion and rage. Part silent scream, part breathless love story ― I was utterly blown away' Miranda Cowley Heller, bestselling author of THE PAPER PALACE

Collapsible content

About the Author

Yael Van Der Wouden

Yael van der Wouden is a writer and teacher. She currently lectures in creative writing and comparative literature in the Netherlands. Her essay on Dutch identity and Jewishness, "On (Not) Reading Anne Frank", has received a notable mention in The Best American Essays 2018. The Safekeep is her debut novel and was acquired in hotly-contested nine-way auctions in both the UK and the US. Rights have sold in a further twelve countries.

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

  • Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    Rebecca McDonnell

    DEBUTS & BESTSELLERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2024 GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD A winner of the British Book Awards Debut of the Year, a serial killer thriller, an epic and...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    DEBUTS & BESTSELLERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2024 GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD A winner of the British Book Awards Debut of the Year, a serial killer thriller, an epic and...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller Harveen

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

  • Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Manager Elizabeth

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

1 of 4