Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

978-1837930340

The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou

The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou

Publisher Head of Zeus

Released:

  • Signed by the Author
  • UK First Edition
  • First Printing
  • Hardcover


Regular price £14.99
Regular price Sale price £14.99
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

**Selected for BBC 2 Between the Covers Book Club 2023**

'Tense. Moving. Morally complex. Zina Pavlou is wholly unforgettable.' Rachel Rhys
'Hugely powerful... Easily one of the best books you'll read this year.' Emma Christie

THEY HAVE TOLD SO MANY LIES ABOUT ME.

London, 1954. Zina Pavlou, a Cypriot grandmother, waits quietly in the custody of the Metropolitan police. She can't speak their language, but she understands what their wary looks mean: she has been accused of the brutal murder of her daughter-in-law.

Eva Georgiou, Greek interpreter for the Met, knows how it feels to be voiceless as an immigrant woman. While she works as Zina's translator, her obsession with the case deepens, and so too does her bond with the accused murderer.

Zina can't speak for herself. She can't clear her own name. All she can do is wait for the world to decide...

IS SHE A VICTIM? OR IS SHE A KILLER?

A compelling historical crime novel set in the Greek diaspora of 1950s London - that's inspired by a true story - The Unspeakable Acts of Zina Pavlou is perfect for fans of Erin Kelly, Sara Collins, and Jessie Burton.

'A brilliantly crafted story of two women... and an absolute page-turner' Louise Hare
'Immersive, gripping, authentic' Erin Kelly
'Chilling, gripping' Nikki Smith
'Zina and Eva will stay with me a long, long time' Louise Fein
'A gripping true-crime drama... Kyriacou's complex, perceptive and moving narrative brings these devastating events vividly to life' Philippa East
'Prepare to become obsessed with Zina Pavlou!' Louise Mumford
'Storytelling of the highest order... Really powerful' Leonora Nattrass
'Eleni Kyriacou is a writer of immense talent... A captivating and important story written by an author at the top of her game' Victoria Dowd
'A terrific re-imagining of a historical true crime case... A gripping thriller' Trevor Wood

Collapsible content

About the Author

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

    All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Frequently Asked Questions: Exclusive Edition of "Empire of the Damned" by Jay Kristoff

    Frequently Asked Questions: Exclusive Edition o...

    1. What features does the Goldsboro exclusive edition of "Empire of the Damned" have? The Goldsboro exclusive edition of "Empire of the Damned" by Jay Kristoff will feature block sprayed...

    Frequently Asked Questions: Exclusive Edition o...

    1. What features does the Goldsboro exclusive edition of "Empire of the Damned" have? The Goldsboro exclusive edition of "Empire of the Damned" by Jay Kristoff will feature block sprayed...

  • The Original Book Club - PREM1ER

    The Original Book Club - PREM1ER

    I love the idea that each book is numbered and limited, they're extra special because they're personalised with those sought-after signatures, and they are not on tip-in pages.

    The Original Book Club - PREM1ER

    I love the idea that each book is numbered and limited, they're extra special because they're personalised with those sought-after signatures, and they are not on tip-in pages.

  • Goldsboro Books Twelve Days of Christmas

    Goldsboro Books Twelve Days of Christmas

    Our first gift to you this festive season is the launch of our new website and in celebration of our major website upgrade, we're delighted to introduce our "Twelve Days...

    Goldsboro Books Twelve Days of Christmas

    Our first gift to you this festive season is the launch of our new website and in celebration of our major website upgrade, we're delighted to introduce our "Twelve Days...

  • 2023 Gift Guide: The Best Gifts For Book Lovers

    2023 Gift Guide: The Best Gifts For Book Lovers

    The festive holidays are the perfect time to escape the cold, cosy up with a hot drink and lose yourself in a new book. Especially during that strange time between...

    2023 Gift Guide: The Best Gifts For Book Lovers

    The festive holidays are the perfect time to escape the cold, cosy up with a hot drink and lose yourself in a new book. Especially during that strange time between...

1 of 4