Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

The Viceroy's Captain

The Viceroy's Captain

by Anthony Conway

Publisher Hodder & Stoughton

Released:

  • Unsigned
  • UK First Edition
  • First Printing
  • Hardcover


Regular price £25.00
Regular price Sale price £25.00
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

The Eye of the Storm is a legendary diamond, said to bring its owner control of India. Now, bandits have stolen it on its way across the border from the ruins of the Czar's empire, with a party of Bolshevik fanatics in hot pursuit. The only way to prevent a war is to get the diamond back and Sir Oswald Masterman of the Imperial intelligence service knows the right man to do it - Captain John Caspasian of the Twelfth Gurkhas. Rebellious, insubordinate and astonishingly effective, Caspasian is glad to be off desk duty and back in action. With his hand-picked assistant, Gurkha serveant Ganga Limbu, and a hand-picked arsenal of the latest automatic weapons, Caspasian sets off for Beshandu disguised as the escort for a routine tribal council.

Collapsible content

About the Author

Anthony Conway

Anthony Conway is the author of The Moon Tree, a saga of the 1940s Burma War and the years of conflict in Asia that followed. Drawing on his considerable experience of the Gurkhas and the Far East, he has created an engrossing story in the tradition of James Michener, John Masters, Paul Scott, MM Kaye, and the big historical sagas of Anthony Grey. Spanning several decades, The Moon Tree is a story of love and war that combines “meticulous historical research with a gripping narrative and unforgettable characters.”


He has also written the novels of the Caspasian series published by Hodder & Stoughton, and is currently working on the sixth. Described by the Independent on Sunday as “pure escapist fiction”, each novel is a stand alone story set in the 1920s and 30s, following the adventures of Captain John Caspasian, Indian Army officer and defender of the Empire.


The Black Hand is the opening novel in Jaeger, a spy series set during the Great War in homage to one of Anthony’s heroes, John Buchan.


For younger readers he has written The Case of the Uncomfortable Train Seat, the opening exploits of Teddy Brutus, schoolboy sleuth and antiquarian.


Throughout his life he has written poetry. Originally from Surrey, he now lives in Cheshire and London.

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

    All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

1 of 4