Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

9781529390582

Floating Hotel

Floating Hotel

by Grace Curtis

Publisher Hodderscape

Released:

  • Signed by the author
  • Hardback
  • UK First Edition, First Printing


Regular price £20.00
Regular price Sale price £20.00
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

'Smart, bold and so much fun . . . I'm officially a member of the Grace Curtis fan club' AMIE KAUFMAN

The Grand Budapest Hotel in space, Floating Hotel is a hopeful story of misfits, rebels and found family, perfect for fans of Becky Chambers, Martha Wells and Aliette de Bodard.

Welcome to the Grand Abeona Hotel: home of the finest food, the sweetest service, and the very best views the galaxy has to offer. Year round it moves from planet to planet, system to system, pampering guests across the furthest reaches of the milky way. The last word in sub-orbital luxury - and a magnet for intrigue. Intrigues such as:

Why are there love poems in the lobby intray?

How many Imperial spies are currently on board?

What is the true purpose of the Problem Solver's conference?

And perhaps most pertinently - 
who is driving the ship?

At the centre of these mysteries stands Carl, one time stowaway, longtime manager, devoted caretaker to the hotel. It's the love of his life and the only place he's ever called home. But as forces beyond Carl's comprehension converge on the Abeona, he has to face one final question: when is it time to let go?

** AUTHORS LOVE GRACE CURTIS **

'A beautiful novel . . . You will turn every page hoping for one hundred more' HANNAH KANER

'Curtis oozes charm and humour' TAMSYN MUIR

'An absolute marvel' BETH REVIS

'A real treat' MAX GLADSTONE

'Bittersweet and breathtaking' JULES ARBEAUX

'Beautiful and clever, sad and hopeful, subtle and profoundly moving . . . A heartbreak and a hug' CLAIRE NORTH


'If you read one sci-fi novel this year, make it this one' KATE DYLAN

** READERS LOVE FLOATING HOTEL **

'I was completely immersed ' Netgalley, Five Stars

'Made me laugh and tear up and restore a little hope in humanity' Netgalley, Five Stars

'Grace Curtis is a wonderful writer' Netgalley, Five Stars

'Unique and brilliant' Netgalley, Five Stars

'Deliriously divine' Netgalley, Five Stars

Collapsible content

About the Author

Grace Curtis

Grace Curtis is a freeroaming writer from Newcastle-Upon-Tyne. Her debut novel Frontier, a queer space western about climate change (really), came out in March 2023. When she’s not dreaming up stories, Grace can usually be found up a hill somewhere, climbing or hiking or lolling idly in the grass. Floating Hotel is her second novel.


  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

  • Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    Rebecca McDonnell

    DEBUTS & BESTSELLERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2024 GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD A winner of the British Book Awards Debut of the Year, a serial killer thriller, an epic and...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    DEBUTS & BESTSELLERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2024 GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD A winner of the British Book Awards Debut of the Year, a serial killer thriller, an epic and...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller Harveen

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

  • Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Manager Elizabeth

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

1 of 4