Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

9780857527257

Goodbye Birdie Greenwing

Goodbye Birdie Greenwing

by Ericka Waller

Publisher Doubleday

Released:

  • Signed by the author
  • Hardback
  • UK First Edition, First Printing


Regular price £16.99
Regular price Sale price £16.99
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

'A lovely and poignant novel, filled with insight and dry wit... The painful, funny struggles of the women in this book - mothers, daughters, sisters, neighbours, doctors, patients - will resonate with readers everywhere.' KATHERINE HEINY, author of GAMES AND RITUALS

'
Goodbye Birdie Greenwing is one of those books that lingers... I laughed, cried and felt more compassionate for reading it. A triumph.JENNIE GODFREY, author of THE LIST OF SUSPICIOUS THINGS

'Oh, the exquisite, tender misfits in 
Goodbye Birdie GreenwingI love them all. I love the way loneliness is gathered up into such a delightfully odd community. I love the entire book.' CATHERINE NEWMAN, author of WE ALL WANT IMPOSSIBLE THINGS

___________

Great friends are hard to find, difficult to leave and impossible to forget ...

Birdie Greenwing has been at a loose end ever since her beloved twin sister and husband passed away. Too proud and stubborn to admit she is lonely, Birdie’s world has shrunk. But then some new neighbours move in to the house next door.

Jane has come to Brighton for a fresh start, away from her ferociously protective mother Min. While Jane finds it hard to stand up for herself, her daughter Frankie has no problem telling people what she does and doesn’t want. Ada Kowalski has come to England to follow her dreams, but her new life is harder than she expected.

When a series of incidents brings their lives crashing together, the three find that there is always more to a person than meets the eye …

Goodbye Birdie Greenwing celebrates relationships in all their quirky, complicated uniqueness. It is a story about the choices we make and how we justify them. About finding out who we are, not who other people think we should be.

___________

PRAISE FOR DOG DAYS:

'Funny, sad, gritty and beautifully told, this story will make you look at life again and appreciate the small acts of kindness that make everything worthwhile.' HAZEL PRIOR, author of AWAY WITH THE PENGUINS
'A charming, surprising and moving story of three troubled characters' encounter with love, grief, healing.' CLARE CHAMBERS, author of SMALL PLEASURES

'Moving, uplifting, full of charm and warmth, [Dog Days] gave me much paws for thought.' EMMA STONEX, Sunday Times bestselling author of THE LAMPLIGHTERS

'A Russian doll of a book that twists and tugs each outer husk, revealing delicate and poignant inner layers.' BETH MORREY, author of SAVING MISSY

'Perfect for fans of A Man Called Ove and Eleanor Oliphant, Ericka Waller's wonderful debut is both laugh out loud funny and immensely moving.' AJ Pearce, author of DEAR MRS BIRD

Collapsible content

About the Author

Ericka Waller

We're sorry, we currently don't have a biography for this author.

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

  • Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    Rebecca McDonnell

    DEBUTS & BESTSELLERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2024 GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD A winner of the British Book Awards Debut of the Year, a serial killer thriller, an epic and...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Glass Bell Award 2024: LONGLIST

    DEBUTS & BESTSELLERS ANNOUNCED FOR THE 2024 GOLDSBORO BOOKS GLASS BELL AWARD A winner of the British Book Awards Debut of the Year, a serial killer thriller, an epic and...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller Harveen

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookseller H...

    Discovering the perfect sci-fi or fantasy book today can be a delightful challenge with so many sub-genres, authors, tropes, and special editions to pick from. But worry not, our series...

  • Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Goldsboro Crime Collective

    Goldsboro Books Unveils Groundbreaking Crime Fiction Subscription Service, Goldsboro Crime Collective As Goldsboro Books proudly celebrates its 25th anniversary, the much admired independent bookstore announces its latest venture set to...

  • Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Manager Elizabeth

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

    Rebecca McDonnell

    Bookseller Recommendations: London Bookshop Man...

    Discovering the right book to match your mood or the perfect special edition for your collection can be a delightful challenge. Our series of bookseller recommendations is here to help....

1 of 4