Skip to product information
1 of 1

Goldsboro Books

978-1838953287

The Silver Wolf

The Silver Wolf

by J. C. Harvey

Publisher Allen & Unwin

Released:

  • Signed by the Author
  • UK First Edition
  • First Printing
  • Hardcover


Regular price £16.99
Regular price Sale price £16.99
Sale Sold out
Rendering loop-subscriptions
Rendering loop-subscriptions

Available from:

Limited Edition Copies

View full details

About the book

The extraordinarily rich, dark, panoramic tale of an orphaned boy's quest for truth and then for vengeance as war rages across 17th-century Europe.

Amidst the chaos of the Thirty Years' War, Jack Fiskardo embarks upon a quest that will carry him inexorably from France to Amsterdam and then onto the battlefields of Germany. As he grows to manhood will he be able to unravel the mystery of his father's death? Or will his father's killers find him first?

The Silver Wolf is a tale of secrets and treachery and the relentlessness of fate - but it is also a story of courage and compassion, of love and loyalty and ultimately of salvation too.

Book One of Fiskardo's War marks the start of a series of unforgettable, epic historical fiction for readers of Ken Follett and Kate Mosse.

'This is superb storytelling. Harvey handles a huge cast of characters and a mountain of research with enviable confidence, and gives us a gift of a hero. I am completely invested in Jack Fiskardo now, and will eagerly follow him through many more battles and beds, murders and mayhem, to reach his nemesis. Readers everywhere are in for a treat!' - Tracy Chevalier

'A powerfully impressive debut. Multi-layered, compelling and intriguing, The Silver Wolfdraws us into the murky underbelly of Europe's Thirty Years' War. Gripping stuff!' - Minette Walters

Collapsible content

About the Author

J. C. Harvey

J. C. Harvey is the fiction pen-name for Jacky Colliss Harvey. After studying English at Cambridge, and History of Art at the Courtauld Institute of Art, Jackyworked in museum publishing for twenty years, first at the National Portrait Gallery and then at the Royal Collection Trust, where she set up the Trust's first commercial publishing programme. The extraordinary history of the Thirty Years War (1618-48) and of 17th-century Europe has been an obsession of hers for as long as she can remember. She made her fiction debut with THE SILVER WOLF in 2022, a historical novel longlisted for the 2022 HWA Debut Crown Awards, and described by Tracy Chevalier as 'superb storytelling'.

  • Professionally Packed

    All of our books that have a dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Book Condition & Notes

    All of our books that a have dust wrapper are covered in clear protective, removable film and are packed professionally in bubble wrap and a box for shipping so that they reach you in perfect condition.

  • Frequently Asked Questions: Exclusive Edition of "Empire of the Damned" by Jay Kristoff

    Frequently Asked Questions: Exclusive Edition o...

    1. What features does the Goldsboro exclusive edition of "Empire of the Damned" have? The Goldsboro exclusive edition of "Empire of the Damned" by Jay Kristoff will feature block sprayed...

    Frequently Asked Questions: Exclusive Edition o...

    1. What features does the Goldsboro exclusive edition of "Empire of the Damned" have? The Goldsboro exclusive edition of "Empire of the Damned" by Jay Kristoff will feature block sprayed...

  • The Original Book Club - PREM1ER

    The Original Book Club - PREM1ER

    I love the idea that each book is numbered and limited, they're extra special because they're personalised with those sought-after signatures, and they are not on tip-in pages.

    The Original Book Club - PREM1ER

    I love the idea that each book is numbered and limited, they're extra special because they're personalised with those sought-after signatures, and they are not on tip-in pages.

  • Goldsboro Books Twelve Days of Christmas

    Goldsboro Books Twelve Days of Christmas

    Our first gift to you this festive season is the launch of our new website and in celebration of our major website upgrade, we're delighted to introduce our "Twelve Days...

    Goldsboro Books Twelve Days of Christmas

    Our first gift to you this festive season is the launch of our new website and in celebration of our major website upgrade, we're delighted to introduce our "Twelve Days...

  • 2023 Gift Guide: The Best Gifts For Book Lovers

    2023 Gift Guide: The Best Gifts For Book Lovers

    The festive holidays are the perfect time to escape the cold, cosy up with a hot drink and lose yourself in a new book. Especially during that strange time between...

    2023 Gift Guide: The Best Gifts For Book Lovers

    The festive holidays are the perfect time to escape the cold, cosy up with a hot drink and lose yourself in a new book. Especially during that strange time between...

1 of 4